Vrat Ke Chawal- Fasting on Mahashivratri

Vrat Ke Chawal

Vrat Ke Chawal

Charit fasts on Mahashivratri….but he loves to eat, so he had Sabudana Khichdi for breakfast and Dahi Alu Sabji with Singhare flour paraths for lunch and dinner was Vrat ke Chawal….fasting with Charit is a treat in itself- The last time I was fasting for Navratris he made these Chatpata Potato snack for me with grounded peanuts and how I loved it.  Navratris is around the corner and I can’t wait for my fasts to start!

 Here is the recipe for Vrat Rice-

Ingredients-

150 gms Rice

1 Potato chopped

2 Green Chilies chopped

Jeera (Cumin Seeds) – 1/2 tsp

Black Pepper – 1/4 tsp

3  Cups Water

Ghee- 1 Tbsp

Salt to taste

Chopped Coriander

Lemon Juice- 1 tsp

Method-

In a saucepan heat the ghee, add the cumin seeds and let them crackle.  Now add the chopped potatoes and some salt for them and sauté them.  Let them cook for 3-4 minutes.  Now add the green chilies and sauté for a minute.  Add the rice, salt, pepper, and water.  Cook until the water evaporates.  Add the lemon juice and mix. Garnish with chopped coriander and serve with curd and coriander chutney.

You can also add grounded peanuts to this just after you add the potatoes. I made it the first time and happened to add some extra water….I took care of it in the amount mentioned here.