Sabudana

Sabudana

I have been observing fasts for nine days during Navratri for quite sometime now. I stick to eating phalahaar or non cereal food. I believe it is the time to follow a tradition of cleansing, detoxifying and getting my body rested. I have seen both my mother and mother in law fast for these days and I guess it is just in me to follow them.
Different people observe different rules. I have just tried to follow some common rules and go ahead with preparing what’s commonly eaten during fasts.

I have learnt to prepare Sabudana ki Khichdi from my mother in law. Whether fasting or not, my husband loves to have it!

Here is the recipe-

Ingredients:

Ingredients

Ingredients

1 Cup Sabudana
2/3 Chopped Green Chillies
1/2 Cup Roasted Groundnut Powder
2 Tbsp oil/ghee
1 boiled potato chopped
Salt to taste
Red Chilli to taste
1 tea spoon Cumin seeds
Chopped Cilantro for garnishing

Method:

In a sieve take Sabudana, wash it and thereafter drain the water. It is very important drain the water for at least 4 hours. Make sure that no water remains or else the khichdi becomes sticky while cooking. You can sprinkle some water after draining. I usually soak it the night before.
Boil and chop the potatoes in small cubes.
Take ghee/oil in a pan and heat it, add cumin seeds, once they crackle, add green chillies, let them fry for a minute. Add chopped potatoes and sauté them for 5 minutes. Add the roasted ground nut powder, now add Sabudana, salt and red chilli. Mix and let this fry for 5-6 minutes. Stir it. Add lemon juice and chopped cilantro for garnishing.
Serve hot with curd.

Sabudana Khichdi

Sabudana Khichdi

