Baatis

IMG_7185

Having grown up in Rajasthan, daal baati was something we would binge on often. How I loved the Churma, Yum, I would go….

My husband loves Daal Baati, We often treat ourselves to baatis in Indore.  I had made Baatis just once in life and when Charit said he wanted to have them over the weekend, I was like sure thing but…..then he said we will have friends over, that made me a bit nervous, what if the baatis did not turn out well!

I called Mom a day before, heard the method and then again the next day morning and then again while I was baking them 🙂  But they are so simple & quick to make & with my Mom just a call away, it is all super easy! I did not add any baking soda or curd and they came out perfect, a crispy outer crust and soft inside.

I made Daal, besan kadhi (without pakodas), coriander chutney, garlic chutney & rabdi with lychees to go with baatis.  Charit has them with powdered sugar as well, so you could try that too.  Served hot with Ghee the Baatis were enjoyed by all. All you need after this is a good nap!

Ingredients

•             Whole wheat flour (atta)              4-5 cups

•             Salt to taste

•             Pure ghee- 1 Tbsp per cup of flour and additional for soaking and serving (Clarified Butter)

•             Carom seeds (ajwain)    1/2 teaspoon

Method

Mix flour, carom seeds, ghee and salt. Add sufficient water to knead it into a stiff dough. Divide the dough into portions and shape them into small balls. Place the baatis on the tray. Preheat oven to 250 C or ~480 F

Bake them at 250°C for about ten minutes. And after ten minutes, turn sides and bake for another ten minutes. This worked for me. You can always lower the temperature or change sides etc.

Generally they are soaked in a bowl of melted desi ghee for some time before being served but I just shallow fried them in ghee in a pan and served with ghee so that people could add as desired. Remove from bowl before serving and serve with dal and ghee.