Today Ugadi was celebrated with gaiety here in Hyderabad.  My neighbors sent the traditional sweet-sour Ugadi pacchadi and I loved it.

Delicious Ugadi Pacchadi and Pulihora

Delicious Ugadi Pacchadi and Pulihora

 Potato Snack for Vrat- Enjoy the Navratris

Today also marked the beginning of Ram Navratri also known as Vasant Navratras.  This festival of nine nights is dedicated to Hindu Goddess Durga, Goddess Lakshmi and Goddess Saraswati.  I started with the eight day fasts today.  Back home Ma would worship little girls on the eight day of Navratris and there would be a nice lunch for me and my friends.  As a kid,  I, my friends and my brother too would go to these Poojas and eat our heart out. 

Coming back to the fasts- today was my first and Charitra made this yummylicious potato snack.  I finished it in no time and am wondering what he will make tomorrow!

Here is how it goes-

Ingredients-

Ingredients- Potato Snack

Ingredients- Potato Snack

4 Potatoes- Semi Boiled and Sliced

Peanut Powder- 2 Tbsp

Green Chilies- 2 finely chopped

Cumin Seeds (Zeera) – 2 tsp

Salt to taste

Coriander Powder- 2 tsp

Lemon Juice- 2 tsp

Ghee/Oil- 1 Tbsp

Coriander Chopped

Method-

Potato Snack

Potato Snack

Boil the potatoes (don’t over boil them- just a couple of whistles- or 3 minutes in microwave) and peel them.  Slice them.  In a sauce pan take ghee and add zeera.  Once the zeera crackles add the chopped potatoes and stir them. Now add the green chillies and let the potatoes cook.  Once you can see that the potatoes are soft and cooked add the peanut powder, dhaniya powder and salt; stir softly.  Now add the lemon juice.  Garnish with chopped coriander and serve hot.  This delicious snack can be eaten on its own or serve with curd or Singhade ke aata ka  paratha.

Wishing everybody a very happy and peaceful Ugadi! 

