Crispy Arbi

Arbi Sabji

Arbi or Colocasia or Taro

Growing up I never had arbi- I don’t remember Mom cooking it too- maybe she did once in a blue moon but it never caught my attention. This one is not used in cooking at my in laws place too. However recently Charit had arbi at a friend’s place and loved it. I must admit that I had a faint clue about what it looked like and there is this embarrassing story about me picking up a wrong vegetable thinking it was arbi. I was so excited and wanted to surprise Charit with Arbi for dinner. Little did I know…I am too embarrassed to even tell what I picked up for Arbi. Fortunately I had my friend Roli over that evening and I kept on telling her how I was planning to make arbi the first time for Charit. And when she happened to see “my Arbi” sliced and ready to be cooked, she was zapped and what followed was…hmmm let’s just skip this one. Roli and I have often discussed this after that!

So now that I finally know what it looks like and picked it up to make this simple yet delicious and crispy Arbi. It was meant to be eaten with Chapattis as a side dish but Charit just snacked away on it and loved it. This one is high on calorie but one can shallow fry it to avoid the same.

Ingredients-

10 – 12 medium sized colocasia/arbi boiled, peeled and cut into 1/2″ thick slices
Oil for frying
Dry Mango Powder (amchoor) – 1.5 tsp
Coriander Powder (dhaniya powder) – 1 tsp
Red Chili Powder as per taste
Salt to taste
Turmeric Powder (Haldi) – 1/2 tsp
Ajwain (carom seeds) – 1 tsp
Chopped Coriander
Lemon juice- 1/2 tsp

Method-

Wash the arbi and pressure cook it until a couple of whistles. Peel them and cut into 1/2 inch thick slices.
Heat oil in a sauce pan and deep fry the peeled arbi pieces. Upon cooling add the above mentioned spices and chopped coriander (you can also fry the spices in one tsp oil and then add them). Add a dash of lemon juice- snack away or serve as a side dish with any kind of bread.

