Stuffed Karela- raw

Bharwa Karela

Karela or Bitter Gourd is another vegetable that I started eating only after marriage. As a matter of fact I have not seen many children eating/relishing it. My in laws love this vegetable and make it often. After a hectic day at work I came back home to Karela being served as dinner. I was hungry and tired, besides there was no harm in trying and try I did- I liked it and as I went on to eat more, my love for this veggie grew.

I guess, most of us know how healthy this vegetable is and so if you can, you must make it often. There are a number of ways to make them whole; you can have a Besan (Gram Flour) filling, or an onion tomato filling or a potato filling. You can also cut and make them.

Here is how I made them today-

Ingredients:

4-6 Bitter Gourds (Karelas)- peeled

2/3 tbsp Gram Flour (Besan)

1 tbsp Coriander Powder (Dhaniya Powder)

1/2 tbsp Dry Mango Powder (Amchoor)

1/4 tbsp Garam Masala

1/2 tbsp Cumin seeds (Zeera)

1/2 tbsp Turmeric Powder

Red Chilli powder as per taste

Salt as per taste

Chopped Cilantro

Oil- 2 Tablespoon

Method

Peel the karelas (Bitter Gourd) and slit them vertically. Mix the Besan, Gram Flour, Coriander powder, Amchoor, Garam Masala, Cumin Seeds, Red Chilli Powder, Salt and chopped Cilantro.

Now stuff the above mixture into the vertical cut made on karelas.

Heat oil in a pan; add 1/4 tbsp cumin powder and a pinch of turmeric powder. Put the stuffed karelas in the pan, cover the lid, and let them cook for sometime If there is any extra stuffing left, sprinkle it on the karelas. Keep the flame low and change the sides of the vegetable gently after every 5-7 minutes until the its skin becomes soft. You can add additional salt for the karelas as per taste.

Serve the tasty Karelas with hot chappatis.

I also wanted to wish everyone a very Happy Lohri. I don’t see too many people celebrating it here….I miss having the revari, pop corn and pea nuts in the warmth of Lohri fire.

