Idli Fry

I love South Indian food!  We often have Idlis and Dosas in breakfast.  I grew up in Rajasthan and back then we did not have any South Indian restaurants around us.  I loved it when Mom made it at home- even the Sambhar Masala- which I buy from the grocery store conveniently….

That reminds me since we shifted to Hyderabad I have not had Dosa Sambhar made by her…cause here I have it so often…….next trip….  

The good thing is usually kids love it and you can change a lot with Dosa stuffing and a variety of Chutneys make it all the more interesting to make South Indian food and relish it.

Ingredients-

4-5 Idlis

1 tablespoon Butter

Salt to taste

1/2 teaspoon Mustard Seeds

1/2 teaspoon Cumin seeds (Jeera)

1/4 teaspoon Turmeric Powder (Haldi)

Salt to taste

2 chopped green chillies

1/2 Onion Chopped

Chopped Coriander

Method-

We often fry leftover Idlis and have them as snacks.  All you need to do is take a tablespoon of Butter/Ghee in a pan, heat it. Add Mustard Seeds and let them splutter. Add turmeric powder and chopped onions. Once the onions are golden brown add green chillies and fry for a minute. Now add the Idlis and salt as desired.  Garnish with chopped coriander and snack away!

Fried Idli served with Peanut Chutney

