Baingan- usually people love it or hate it.
My Mom loves Baingan, but my Dad does not have them in any form. That’s the only vegetable my Dad does not like, otherwise he is not a fussy eater. Growing up, I remember I never saw brinjals in our refrigerator…Mom stopped buying them as I and my brother also refused to eat them in any form, not even in sambhar.
It is only at a friend’s house that I agreed to taste Baingan Bartha and then on it became one of my favorite side dishes. Here is a recipe for another baingan dish that I learnt from my Mom in law and this is my husband’s favorite.

Ingredients:
6/8 Small Brinjals (Baingan)
2/3 tbsp Gram Flour (Besan)
2 tsp Coriander Powder (Dhaniya Powder)
1/2 to 1 tsp Dry Mango Powder (Amchoor)
1/2 tsp Garam Masala
1 tsp Cumin seeds (Zeera)
1/2 tsp Turmeric Powder
Red Chilli powder as per taste
Salt as per taste & 2 Tbsp Oil
Chopped Cilantro

Method

 
 
 
 
 
 

Stuffed Baingan- Raw

Stuffed Baingan- Raw

 
Slit the brinjals vertically. Mix the Gram Flour, Coriander powder, Amchoor, Garam Masala, Cumin Seeds, Red Chilli Powder, Salt and chopped Cilantro.

Now stuff the above mixture into the vertical cut made on brinjals.
Heat oil in a pan; add 1/4 tsp cumin powder. Put the stuffed brinjals in the plan, cover the lid, and let them cook for sometime. Serve with hot Chappatis.

Stuffed Baingan- Cooked

Stuffed Baingan- Cooked

