Lauki Channa Daal

Lauki Channa Daal

Lauki Channa Daal

I have been away for quite some time from the blog but not the kitchen! Today I decided to break the jink…and post.
I have taken up a full time job and that has kept me slightly busy. But now that I am more or less settled with my new routine, I have decided to be regular here!
Lauki Channa Daal is a humble, mildly flavored dish- quick to make! Nothing fancy about it- at least the way I make it- but you are bound to fall in love with the simplicity and flavor of this dish. Charit loves it when served with hot Chapattis and so here it is all for him.

Ingredients

Half Bottle Gourd- Chopped into medium sized cubes
Bengal Gram daal (Channa Daal) – Half Bowl- Soaked before hand for 3-4 hours.
Mustard and Cumin Seeds- ½ tsp each
Salt and red Chili Powder to taste
Turmeric Powered- ½ tsp
Chopped Coriander to garnish

Method

Soak the Channa Daal for 3-4 hours in water.
Chop the Lauki into small cubes. Take oil in a sauce pan, let it heat, add Cumin and Mustard seeds. Once they crackle, add the chopped lauki and stir fry for 10-15 minutes till it starts to turn golden brown. Now add Channa Daal. Add salt turmeric powder and Chili powder to taste. Fry again for 10 minutes. Now add water and bring to boil. Let it simmer for five minutes and check if both lauki and channa daal are soft. Once soft, take them off the heat. Garnish with coriander and serve with hot Chapattis.
I keep this one very simple and basic- you can add curry leaves/ginger garlic paste/Garam Masala /chopped onions to suit your taste

