Sponge Gourd pieces slit vertically

Sponge Gourd pieces slit vertically

As a kid I always used to avoid eating bottle gourd (doodhi), bitter gourd (Karela), ridge gourd (Torai) and other vegetables which belonged to the “gourd” family. I would pull a long pace at the very mention of these vegetables and convince my Mom to make another side dish for me and she would usually yield in.
I started eating these vegetables after my marriage. It so happened that my mother in law had made Torai Sabji that day, and I did not have the heart to tell her that I don’t eat it, so I ended up trying it. Somewhere down the line I gradually started liking these vegetables and am glad that I eat and relish all of them now. I often thank her for introducing me to the “world of gourds”
The dish here is sponge gourd (also called Gillki in Indore) Sponge gourds thrive well in sunny locations in well-drained soil base
My family enjoys this dish a lot and I am glad that my four year old son loves it too.

Ingredients: (Serves 4)

Sponge Gourds 7/8
For the Stuffing-
Grated Onions 3
Grated Tomatoes 1
Chopped Coriander 1 tsp
Garlic Cloves 6/7
Cumin Seeds 1/2 tbsp
Salt to taste
Turmeric Powder 1/4 tbsp
Coriander Powder 1 tbsp
Red Chilli Powder to taste
Vegetable or Canola Oil 3 tbsp

Stuffed Sponge Gourd Pieces

Stuffed Sponge Gourd Pieces

Method:
Grate the onions and tomatoes
Heat oil in a pan. Add cumin seeds, after they are brown, add garlic cloves and let them turn golden brown. Add the grated onion and salt. Let it cook for 10-15 minutes and then add the tomato pury. Add coriander powder, turmeric powder and chilli powder. Let them cook nicely, until the raw smell goes away and the oil separates from the stuffing. This will form the filling, so make sure that all the vegetable water dries up while cooking. Once done, put it aside and let it cool. Add chopped coriander.
Peel the sponge gourd and cut it into 3 inch (approx) long pieces. Spilt these pieces lengthwise for stuffing. Add the filling to the sponge gourd pieces.

Stuffed Sponge Gourd

Take oil in a pan, put some Cumin Seeds and once they are brown put the stuffing filled gourd pieces one by one in the pan. Put a lid and let it cook until the skin of the vegetable is soft. Stir a couple of times.
Serve with hot Chapattis!

P9084096

Stuffed Sponge Gourd Served with Hot Paratha

